Tis the season for thieves ….

December 17, 2007 at 7:04 pm 4 comments

Guess I am not as smart as I thought. I made the horrible mistake of trying to sell some furniture on Craig’s List (do not blame site in any way) and was taken for a scam. Even with a certified cashiers check, I was taken for $2000. This is money I do not have, especially not at this time of year. I have had such optimism about the internet, the world, people.

This disheartens me greatly. It’s a very sad holiday for me as many gifts now have to go back, etc. because I don’t want to put myself into a situation where I cannot make payments or other checks bounce. Maybe Seth’s idea about eBooks has some merit, when before I had thought free was the way to go. I guess that makes me that much more of a sucker, huh?

To all of you out there, I truly hope you have a wonderful holiday season. Better than mine :-)

NOTE: It would seem, as a society, we are tolerating this kind of anonymous behavior.  I have tried police, courts, FBI, Fraud, Bank, lawyers, and other notable institutions to try to recover the monies and prosecute and all tell me that it’s basically a waste of time and I should just embrace this tough lesson learned.  WOW!  I think the real lesson is that we have become too complacent, but that’s just one girl’s opinion.

Entry filed under: holidays. Tags: , , , , , .

Cheezburger Cheezburger Cheezburger It’s about giving …

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TheClassicBrat  |  January 3, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    That sucks! I’m so sad for you even though I don’t know you. In the past I’ve had people try to do that whole cashiers check thing with me when I’ve listed something on Craig’s list or Kijiji (notorious for bringing out the scammers in people!). I hope that you can do something legally to try to reclaim your lost money.

    Reply
  • 2. anissastein  |  January 3, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Thank you very much for your support and encouragement! I have tried a few different avenues (police, small claims court, etc.) and it would seem that I have learned a very costly lesson, but a lesson nonetheless! If nothing else, I have learned that there are many more spirited and kind-hearted folks out there than scammers.

    Reply
  • 3. Jill  |  February 5, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    I hope it helps you to know I wish the best for you. I know it probably won’t help to hear what I have to say next, except to let you know you have are in the company of one who empathizes. I worked very hard last year on a market garden, thought it was going well when I had a big subscription order from a clinic with many offices in the state. It turned out half of the checks bounced, and some were from doctors. They essentially stole food to the tune of what you lost. If it comes down to it and everything falls apart and someone says they are hungry, I will have no sympathy for thieves, but you and others like I would offer some food in trade for a rest for my back. If it helps, my advice, cash only period and no exceptions.

    Reply
    • 4. anissastein  |  February 15, 2009 at 8:17 pm

      thank you very much jill! It does help a great deal :-)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

