Fast Company? Slow Mag

November 16, 2007 at 4:16 pm 1 comment

When Fast Company put out their first magazine, I thought it was the greatest magazine ever (second to Entertainment Weekly).  Once I got the latest edition, I would read it cover to cover; no stopping.  I was in my own world and would dog ear some corners (ok, many corners) and many of the articles would send me off to research more about a topic or some sliver of info introduced to me for the first time. I was just wild about Fast Company and told everyone I knew about it.   Fast forward to 2007 – the magazine seems almost like any other out there. It is not the cutting edge, blink-or-you-will-miss-it type of information anymore.  I don’t even read it cover to cover anymore because my attention is just not there. The articles seem like a million others and rarely do I dog ear a page to return for another helping.

From my impression, if you don’t have the zing zowey to capture attention, and quick, then why bother?  Take it online via blogs, ezines, newsletters, or other means to not capture but keep my attention.  My magazine consumption has drastically decreased in the past few years with only one still able to suck me in to pay the year’s subscription rate.  Where has all the entertainment and information gone? Where we apparently want it – at our fingertips!

Entry filed under: Miscellania. Tags: , .

You say it’s your birthday, Overcompensation

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. music  |  January 9, 2008 at 3:50 am

    very interesting.
    i’m adding in RSS Reader

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2007
S M T W T F S
    Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

