Just how hard can it be?

May 25, 2008 at 12:35 pm Leave a comment

Really, how hard can it be to nice? We were all taught the golden rule. We have all heard that we shouldn’t say anything at all if we can’t say anything nice. So, why are people so rude, or disagreeable, or just plain indifferent?

I have noticed it everywhere. A group of us at work misdialed an employee’s number and got a coworker we weren’t expecting. That person basically slammed the phone down in our ears. What odd treatment of your coworkers; folks of the same team!

I called to make an appointment and the person yelled at me because her computer was running slow and told me to call back later. I didn’t get a goodbye, just the dial tone in my ear. Interestingly enough, when I called another provider, she indicated that their website wasn’t responding well and could she either email, fax or mail me the information I had requested after the site came back up. I received the email hours later.

I don’t know about you, but if there’s one thing that is appreciated during this hard time we are all enduring, is a nice word, a kind smile, a small gesture. We are all having to navigate the waters of high gas prices, skyrocketing food costs, housing dilemmas, and the like. But if we all took a second to register that everyone is not the enemy, it would be such a kinder place to be. I will continue to try on my end too!

Entry filed under: Relationships. Tags: , , .

Addictions SJP-then and now

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

