The real you always shows up

June 13, 2008 at 5:46 pm 2 comments

I always find it interesting to hear what people espouse but then to see them act in complete discord with what they say or actually do. For example, a recent manager (I would not consider her a leader) of mine was big on gratitude. She claimed to be studying all about it, was in the midst of writing at least three books, and felt that mentoring and gratitude were the missing components in the workforce, especially among women (HA!).

Amazingly, this person rarely showed true, genuine gratitude to anyone on her team. She was rarely authentic and did little mentoring of others in her employ. What I find most interesting is an example of this. She was trying to covertly find out what kind of restaurants I liked ( I say trying because I knew exactly what she was doing) and then she asked if I liked Biaggi’s and I said it was ok, nothing great, I actually liked Le Sole Mia much much better. But which gift card did I receive – one from Biaggi’s. I had made it clear that this was not a favorite or even a place I wanted to try again. Additionally, someone else near the conversation told this person that I loved to read and why not get a gift card to a bookstore or Amazon.com, but that idea was dismissed out of hand.

If anyone has read any of the Gallup literature, (or any major leadership book such as The Leadership Challenge or anything by Bennis, Kotter, Emmons, etc), when you want to say thank you to someone in the workplace, you don’t do in the way you want. Or the way that’s easiest (Biaggi’s happens to be about 10 seconds away from the office). You personalize the thank you to each person based on what she likes and enjoys. Again, for someone espousing gratitude, is a follower of Emmons (!!), and supposedly cares about each person in her employ, this manager (definitely not leader) has a very poor way of showing it.

And it’s any wonder why this great nation of ours is so actively disengaged with their their jobs. The lack of appreciation and respect is a real killer. Ask my former manager.

Entry filed under: workplace. Tags: , , , , , .

Atta-girl The fragility of mother nature

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Josh Cox  |  June 14, 2008 at 8:31 am

    Awesome! You sound like the type of person I should be associating with more. I agree. Leadership is about serving not being served.

    I think you would like my site. It’s a bit of fun to look at. If you have a quick minute click on over and let me know what you think.

    I’ll be looking forward to more… Here is where you can find me…

    http://joshbcox.wordpress.com

    Thanks, josh

    Reply
  • 2. Josh Cox  |  June 14, 2008 at 8:33 am

    Oh yeah! I forgot, but I was going to compliment your name.

    Anissa,…that is pretty.

    Ok C ya, josh

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

