The fragility of mother nature

June 15, 2008 at 9:23 pm Leave a comment

I had an occasion to drive near Des Moines and Cedar Falls over the past few days. To say the flooding in Iowa is devastating is an understatement. I am sure those who lived through Hurricane Katrina would say that living through that was a much rougher scenario. I don’t doubt that at all. I think when one is able to see something up close and personal, the vividness of it all becomes too much to bear.

Friends who have been to Ground Zero after 9/11 tell me that what we saw on tv is nothing compared to the real thing. I have never been to Louisiana, so I don’t know that I will ever fully comprehend that mass devastation that occurred there. Is still occurring there.

But I did get to see a bit of what the flooding did in Iowa. I saw a complete elementary school under water. I saw roads completely washed out. And I saw many a farm turned into large ponds and in some cases, what looked like a lake. It is enough to break your heart and wonder why these kinds of things happen. But instead of wondering why, I decided to go one better and volunteered to help. Anyone want to join me?

Entry filed under: Relationships. Tags: , , .

The real you always shows up Little turtle that could

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

