Little turtle that could

June 17, 2008 at 8:11 pm Leave a comment

I was on the highway recently and noticed what looked like a big rock by the side of the road, slightly in the lane. I moved a bit to the left so that I would not hit it and as I got closer, I noticed it was not a rock at all but a turtle. When I drove by, he stuck his head out and then started to book it across the lanes. I have to say, if I had the ability to yell out via a bullhorn to the cars behind me, I would have.

Yes, so that they too could avoid the turtle. I know, I know, insurance companies tell you to hit the animal and not to swerve because all that does is cause your insurance to go up. But I refuse to do this (much to the chagrin of my insurance carrier. Twice now – once due to deer and another because of a rabbit). If animals don’t have feelings, why do they whimper? or cower? Sorry, until there is strong evidence to suggest that animals do not have feelings, I will swerve every time.

Entry filed under: pets, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

The fragility of mother nature The kindness of strangers

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

