The kindness of strangers

June 19, 2008 at 2:27 pm Leave a comment

I still believe in the kindness of strangers. I still believe in smiling at anyone (well, everyone really) where ever I am.  I remember the first time I ever went to NYC and was prepped by others in advance that I just couldn’t talk to anyone or smile at everyone like I always do.  My response was utter shock at the warning.

Here is a piece of advice I want to share with everyone.   Please listen to others and let them have their say, but always remember that you can accept, reject, or ignore what was shared with you.  I think we fail to remember that we have a choice after being presumably told what to do.

So I exercised this choice during that first trip to NYC and every subsequent trip. I will continue to do so. I refuse to change who I am at the core, which is someone who naturally just smiles or talks to anyone around.  I may be looked at oddly (since when has that bothered me) but at least I know the real me showed up.   Fear doesn’t get you anywhere and I mean that literally.  Fear holds you back, talks you out of trying something new and keeps you from enjoying the spontaneity of life.

I have had the great fortune of living in some truly wonderful cities that embraced this side of my personality.  Indiana, North Carolina and now Nebraska have all been wonderful places for me to meet all kinds of wonderful people and have been grateful for every person I have encountered.  Have you met someone new today?

Entry filed under: Miscellania, Relationships. Tags: , , .

Little turtle that could Take the Pledge

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

