The laughter is still with us

June 23, 2008 at 7:31 pm 1 comment

It was a bit shocking to learn of George Carlin’s death.  I guess I was so used to seeing him look what seemed the same way for so long, that in my mind he wasn’t aging anymore.  I had the opportunity to see him once about five years ago in Raleigh, North Carolina. I thought he was great and my sides heart like crazy from the laughter.  I ended up not seeing the whole show due to a date issue (that is another story all together) but have always been grateful that I was able to see him at least once.

I know there are people who follow bands, etc. like a religion. I have a friend who followed Jimmy Buffet, another who followed The Allman Brothers, etc.  I was never one of those kinds of people.  Maybe I am just too boring, or maybe it’s because I look for the next adventure, I am not sure.  I was able to see Jerry Seinfeld perform shortly after the television show ended. That was a great night and I never thought I would stop laughing.  I don’t need to see him every city; I just needed to see him in one city.

Right now, my goal is to see Jim Gaffigan perform in Omaha this coming October (probably because he’s a Hoosier, like myself). So far, I don’t have someone to go with or a date, but hopefully that will change in the near future.  Sure, I have seen him on Comedy Central do a show and love him on TBS’s My Boys, but I would like to see him in person just once.  For me, one time is all I need.  I count myself lucky that I had my opportunity with George Carlin, a true comedian and artist.

Entry filed under: comedy, Miscellania, television. Tags: , , , .

Headline grabber What was I thinking?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. The laughter is still with us at Allman Brothers  |  June 23, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    […] The laughter is still with us I have a friend who followed Jimmy Buffet, another who followed The Allman Brothers, etc. I was never one of those kinds of people. Maybe I am just too boring, or maybe it’s because I look for the next adventure, I am not sure. … […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

