A night never imagined (again)

June 28, 2008 at 8:48 am Leave a comment

I am in a local coffee shop trying to stay on schedule for school (researching, etc.) but also to escape.  Yesterday, around 5 or so, Omaha got hit pretty hard by severe storms.  There hasn’t been any confirmations about tornados, but they have confirmed hurricane-like winds of 80 and 100 mph ripping through the city.

I can honestly say it was scary beyond belief and being able to see it because it was so early in the day was not helpful at all.  Yes, I was watching it, from my closet, the farthest interior room.  The last time I remember something like this was in 1996 with Hurricane Fran when it passed right over Raleigh, NC.  It happened largely overnight but I remember trying to sleep through it so that I could wake up and believe it to be a dream. No such luck then, or now.

So, I am escaping the lack of electricity and food for some news, adult interaction, and a little normalcy.  Once I do a bit of schoolwork, I will head out and see how I can help some neighbors.  It’s an ugly mess but we will get past this!

Entry filed under: Miscellania, weather. Tags: , , , .

Perception is Reality Lighting up the Night

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

