Chain Restaurant Capital of the World??

July 21, 2008 at 9:20 am 2 comments

As I approach my one year anniversary in Omaha, Nebraska (and my how fast this year has flown), I find it interesting that many residents consider this the chain restaurant capital of the world.  If there is a chain that exists, it’s here in Omaha.  Well folks, if that is true, where is:

  • Baskin Robbins
  • Dunkin Donuts
  • Steak ‘n’ Shake
  • Champps
  • Maggiano’s
  • Tim Horton’s
  • Jack in the Box
  • Johnny Carino’s

I put this list in order of importance to ME because my favorite ice cream is Baskin Robbins mint chocolate chip ice cream. It is truly heaven on earth.  Every year, in the fall, they have free scoop day.  Every year, I would get a group of folks together and visit all the stores in the Raleigh, NC area – always getting my favorite.  Ahhh, what great memories!

There used to be some BR’s in Lincoln but no more.  And yes, I would have driven specifically to get a quart (or ten).  When I was in St Louis recently, I tried to find a nearby BR, no luck.  I was able to visit a Steak’n’Shake though, so I could takhomasak.  I find it interesting that we have Dunkin Donuts commercials in Omaha, but no actual store.  What a tease!

Entry filed under: Miscellania, thoughts. Tags: , , , .

Commencement Speeches I want my chai!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  July 21, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    We used to have a Baskin Robins. I fear the franchisee didn’t want to continue their fees as all locations mysteriously turned into Ashley’s Ice Cream on the same day.

    Champs just left a year ago after being an initial food anchor in the Oakview Mall.

    I too would like a steak and shake, a Bennigans, a Houston’s and a few others I’ve been to.

    Per capita we are definately the capital though.

    Reply
  • 2. anissastein  |  July 21, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    I agree, per capita, Omaha fits the description well. Bummer to hear about Champps. Geek that I am, I noticed that there were 3 locations in Lincoln still listed on Baskin Robbins store locator page but when I called them, they were either an Ashley’s or no longer listed. Ahh, Houston’s, that would be a good one here too!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

