20 year love affair

July 23, 2008 at 5:48 pm Leave a comment

I have had a love affair for the past 20 years.  It started off with a wide-eyed and innocent Anissa and has evolved into a craving I sometimes cannot nourish.  It’s hard to believe it started around this time 20 years ago, but that is when I became entranced with Target.  Yup, that’s right, Target.  It is one of my favorite places to shop, not just for household items but food too.  SuperTarget is a great addition to my addiction, as is the in-store Starbucks (which feeds my aforementioned chai addiction – see previous post).

I know, you are thinking, what. a. dork.  You are dead on target too. I am a dork and nonetheless, proud of it.  Women have a myriad of ways to make themselves feel better.  It could be a mani/pedi, a night out with the girls, an afternoon movie, reading a book by a fire, a bubble bath.  I didn’t say those were the ways I necessarily make myself feel better, as there are times retail therapy is the only cure for what ails me.  Let’s get real here, I am a woman. I like to shop.  My favorite things to shop for are unnecessary items from Target to make my home even more homey, and books. And let’s face it, Target has a great selection of books too!  I used to be a complete shoe hound, right up there with Imelda, but that has passed somewhat.  And I still love a great purse.  Again, Target can often hit me up just fine in those areas too.

Think about me tomorrow as I meet up for a rendezvous to celebrate our 20 years together.  Luckily, I live within a mile of a SuperTarget.  It’s always good to be close to something you love!

Lest you think I am not aware of our economic woes, I have compared prices of 4 different grocery chains in Omaha to Target on such staples as milk, bread, eggs, and cereal. In every instance, Target was the least expensive by an average of seven cents.

Entry filed under: Books, humor, Miscellania, thoughts. Tags: , .

I want my chai!! The price of Google

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

