The price of Google

July 24, 2008 at 7:48 am Leave a comment

As I walked through the aisles of a local bookstore recently, the headline just screamed out at me “Is Google making us stupid?”  Quite a headliner on a magazine.  I was going to stop and read the article, but then I got distracted by another magazine title and drifted away.  As I drove home, the headline gnawed at me and I still want to read the article.  My sincere hope is that the article’s slant isn’t against Google, because I find that the more I look up things on google, the more I learn. I don’t think it’s making me more stupid at all but instead a better researcher and a more knowledgeable person.

It has gotten to the point where I will hear something and think to myself, I have to google that so I can learn more.  This has put me on the path to learning more about meditation, Ayurveda, self publishing, religious science, ToDo institute, EFT, morita therapy, speakers associations, mentoring groups, and happiness clubs.  And that’s just the things I can think of off the top of my head.  I spend a great percentage of my time googling something and then taking the many paths to learn more.  I know I use it as a research and learning tool, more so than for general information or as a pseudo yellow pages.  I am grateful to  Sergey and Larry for creating this wonderful little engine that could!

Entry filed under: Miscellania, Saturation, thoughts. Tags: , .

20 year love affair My best to Randy’s family

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

