On the edge of my chair

August 20, 2008 at 10:00 am Leave a comment

I don’t know about you, but I have watched just about every second of the primetime coverage of the Olympics as I can. I have found it extremely inspirational, entertaining, and amazing.  There wasn’t a chance I was going to miss Dara Torres make history, or the Romania gymnast (no way I am going to try to spell her name) who was competing in her 5th games and won a silver, or Nastia and Shawn win Gold and Silver in the women’s gymnastics all-around competition, or Michael Phelps.

I loved reading this article about him via a Positive Psychology site that I frequent.  But one of the greatest things I saw him to do, besides break records, was give his mother credit for how she helped him and how he values their relationship. At the end of the interview with his mom and Bob Costas, she leaned over and gave him a kiss on the cheek and he kissed her back. No embarrassment and no hesitation.  I just love this guy.

And some of his words of wisdom – “Stay positive and dream big” – no simpler words have been spoken conveying the greatest message.

Entry filed under: sports, thoughts. Tags: , .

Life and what not Visual Feast

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

