Numb’s the word

August 25, 2008 at 11:50 am Leave a comment

I just love this phrase.  I read it for the first time yesterday and it is still making me smile, because that is what the Farmer’s almanac is predicting this winter.  I was talking to my friend Cheryl about a week or so ago – both of us giddy with excitement that fall is around the corner.  The sun set that day at 8:19 and here just barely a week later, it is setting ten minutes earlier.  It was enough to inspire me to call her again so share my complete joy!

For those that know me, this time of year is my absolute favorite.  I know, I know, you could say that the “holidays” are everyone’s favorite. But that isn’t what I mean.  This marks the beginning of my “happy” season – school supply shopping.  Going to any store where there are office supplies just makes me feel ten again.  Then we have the Labor Day holiday in which you get a long weekend to enjoy summer to its fullest, while secretly hoping for fall, so you can sleep with the windows open.

Which brings us to Fall.  One of the best times of the year.  The smells (yes, fall has a smell), the crispness in the air, the beauty of the leaves, sweatshirts and shorts. Ahhhh, my heart is singing right now.  Then along comes Halloween. This is the BEST holiday ever invented, ever.  I love decorating for it, dressing up, giving out candy, the scary movies, all of it.   That’s right, it’s the tops in my book.

By the time I am finishing up my Halloween candy, my birthday rolls around.  Wahoooo, presents!  And as I get older, I shower myself with presents.  I believe we should all treat ourselves on our birthday (among other things).   As the glow of my birthday wears off, along comes Thanksgiving.  A tradition of giving thanks and eating.  How could you not love a holiday that only asks of you to have gratitude?  And then comes Christmas and New Years.

See I told you – an amazing “happy” season that begins with school supplies and ends with champagne, with some candy and turkey in the middle.   I am truly bouncing out of my chair right now with anticipation.  Can’t you just feel it?!

Entry filed under: holidays, Miscellania, Relationships, thoughts, weather. Tags: , , , , .

Visual Feast Gustav, NO!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

