My best to Kay Yow’s family

January 24, 2009 at 1:49 pm 2 comments

I have not been feeling myself this past week with curious medical ailments, etc.  However, to read about Kay Yow’s death at 66, it stopped me. This woman was courageous, inspiring, funny, dedicated, and most of all, a fighter.   Having lived in Raleigh for almost 13 years, I was very familiar with both Jim Valvano and Kay Yow, both of NC State basketball, and both stricken with cancer.  I am a big fan of the Wolfpack and will forever be because of my history there, but also because these individuals (and many others) who have put a face on humanity and kept fighting.  My best to Kay Yow’s family – immediate and extended – we are with you always.

Entry filed under: Relationships, sports. Tags: , , , , , .

A new beacon of leadership Bobby’s back

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. phoenixrisen100  |  January 24, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    Hi. My name is Tammy Dishner and I just started a blog on word press dedicated to my personal experience moving through stage three breast cancer. I follow the WNBA and had been watching the news about Kay Yow, but I hadn’t heard that she died today until I read this. I am saddened by our loss. Kay Yow is such an inspiration to all of us. She will continue to live on through our memories of the lessons she has taught us. My condolences to Kay Yow’s family and friends.

    Reply
    • 2. anissastein  |  January 24, 2009 at 9:43 pm

      Hi Tammy. I am so sorry to hear about your own breast cancer battles. I am sending along all of my positive energy for you! I had read the story on ESPN.com this morning while eating breakfast. It was so sad to read about. I thought her to be a tremendous individual and believe you are right, she will live on forever through all of us. Please share your blog with me as I would be honored to stay in contact along the way, Anissa

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

