Oscar Picks

February 22, 2009 at 12:13 pm Leave a comment

I am joining the fray and throwing my Oscar picks out there before the envelopes are opened.  I would say other than March Madness and the Super Bowl, this is the only other event I get involved with pools and betting.  I have done pretty well in past Oscar years, picking fairly well. Let’s see how I do this year.

Best Picture – Slumdog Millionaire

Best Director – Danny Boyle

Best Actor – Sean Penn (missed seeing Milk but from the few clips I have seen and all the reviews I have read, I am going with him, plus I think he’s great)

Best Actress – Kate Winslet

Actress in a Supporting Role – Viola Davis (this will be the only Oscar the movie Doubt gets)

Actor in a Supporting Role – the kid who played Michael in The Reader. Oh wait, he wasn’t nominated. Ok, this is my one total guess. I don’t think Heath Ledger would’ve been nominated had he been alive and I am not one for sentimental winners (sorry, as sensitive as everyone knows I am, this probably shocks you) but he will most likely win. So, I am going with Josh Brolin even though Michael Shannon should win, but people will believe his nomination was his “win”.

Documentary Feature – Man on Wire (loved it)

Foreign Language Film – The Class (saw the preview for this before the movie Happy Go Lucky and knew I had to see it. Puts Dangerous Minds and those other “school” movies to shame)

Writing, Adapted – Slumdog Millionaire

Writing, Original – Milk, though Happy Go Lucky is my other thought

The producers are promising a different, more lively, Oscars show.  We shall see…

Entry filed under: Books, humor, movies, Relationships, school, thoughts. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Slumdog Slamdunk Naps …

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

