To Kindle or Not to Kindle?

March 17, 2009 at 8:47 am 7 comments

I am in a quandry.  I am huge reader and love to be reading.  I am usually reading a few books at once, mainly because I am reading some for school, and some for pure curiosity or enjoyment (or both).  I am one of those people who gets interested in random things and then follows the path down the rabbit hole for a while. I also can get addicted to authors and will read everything they have ever written. Now, don’t mistake my incredible love for reading with being a shut-in, just like I shouldn’t mistake your shaved head or face piercings for anything more than self expression.

As an avid reader, I am starting to consider Amazon.com’s Kindle 2.0. It has a lot of new features that held me back from purchasing the first one, but now, the issue I have left is: what about having the actual book.  Right now, I have three bookcases that probably house about 400 or so books.  I have never counted and honestly, have no desire to.  I have about 20 books in my cart at Amazon.com at any one time and at least another 40+ on my wish list.  If you do a little math, to get the Kindle with most of the books being $10 or less, I will only be ‘out’ about $150 or thereabouts.  Of course, as time passes, the benefit of having purchased the Kindle will continue to rise and the financial side will tip to my favor.

So, if one can get past the initial shock of the price and decide that going electronic is the way to go, my last hesitation is with upgrades. Amazon is on version 2.0. What happens when version 3, or 5 comes out? Do we get upgrade options? Has anyone who has the first generation Kindle found any challenges now that the second generation is out?  I know, crazy random thoughts. But not completely unfounded when you consider the iPod and that most of us are on our 2nd or 3rd one.  My first had a battery challenge and when I found out the cost of replacing the battery, I decided to buy a new one from, yes, Amazon.   You can get just about anything from Amazon!

Anyone want to share their thoughts, suggestions, Kindle experiences?

Entry filed under: Books, Miscellania, summer reading list, thoughts. Tags: , , , , .

And so begins the Madness Hmph ..

7 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

