Pity party

May 18, 2009 at 9:34 am Leave a comment

Over the weekend, someone I know said I was throwing myself a pity party. The fact that she was completely drunk, slurring her words, and could barely maintain a still position on her couch, I found this accusation rather interesting.

In the past couple of years, I have felt a considerable shift in my perspective to contentedness, positivity, and joy in my life. Sure, I have had my down moments and challenges but have felt that they have tested me and given me the opportunity to show I am made of more substance and courage than I would have thought ten years ago.  Plus, life is not going to be a bed of roses all the time.  I am not a total Pollyanna!  I guess because I shared that I recently had surgery on my back and it’s still not possible to sit back or sleep on my back qualifies as a pity party??  Or that I am working, in essence, four jobs (they are all inter-related) and each has been fantastic in terms of meeting people, business building, and opportunity qualifies as a pity party?? Hmm, I think I don’t know what this phrase means.

Then I wondered, what exactly does it mean to have a pity party? So, I did what most of us do these days, I Googled it and found that the urban dictionary (love that this exists) indicates a pity party is:

1) A way of experiencing grief, in which you spend your time feeling sorry for yourself and whining endlessly about how crappy your life is

2) A party you throw yourself after something bad has happened to you

Wow! That is not how I view myself at all.  I don’t think my life is crappy at all; I am rather happy with how my life is going.  There is very little I would change and things that I want to change I am actively working on.  If anything, I have never been more happy with the direction and path my life has been taking in the past four years and since I have been the architect of the journey, it is all the more satisfying.

What I really think is this person has a bit of transference going on in which she is the one who is actually miserable, unhappy with herself, her bum of a husband (her words, not mind), and is still telling her “I was fired” sob story six months later.  Maybe being in her company put me in a pity party mood (per definition #2) having to sit there listening to her same ole, same ole story, as if the track on the CD was on indefinite repeat. Hmm, guess will have to be careful who and how I spend my time in the future to avoid that kind of party.

Entry filed under: Miscellania, Relationships, thoughts. Tags: , , , , , .

Getting rid of the sludge in life How do you find love?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

