Love and the workplace

May 28, 2009 at 7:27 pm Leave a comment

Do you love your job? Do you like the people you work with? Do you try to leave your personal life at the door when you walk into the work? Do you truly care about your teammates or your team?

When you read these questions, did you think I was insane?  I am asking about feelings and work.  If you read many leadership books and talk to many bosses, there is NO room for any emotion when it comes to business and the workplace.

I completely and adamantly disagree.  How do you compartmentalize your life like that?  Is it working? Do you feel guilty that you missed your kid’s picnic or field trip, or spelling bee (or whatever)? Do you feel guilty when you’re on vacation or leave just a bit early for a parent-teacher conference or a basketball game?  Is this really the way to live?

Kouzes and Posner wrote a fantastic leadership book called The Leadership Challenge, which was followed up by Encourage the Heart (one among many fantastic book follow-ups). Both are awesome and should be organizational bibles if you ask me.  In essence, caring about your coworkers should not be taboo.

I know for me, it is the model I have followed since college and I refuse to stop. I have been mocked for this by upper management, told I was less responsible than my peers because my teams had fun while at work, and constantly told to stop being friendly with my team.  I might have lost out on opportunities for myself, but I was never in it for me anyway.

What kind of leader are you? What stand do you take professionally?  Don’t change who you are because others disagree, make fun, or are threatened. Just stay the course!

Entry filed under: Books, humor, Miscellania, Relationships, school, summer reading list, thoughts, Who is?, workplace. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Your global compass Ten years and going strong ..

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

