You can do anything. Yes, YOU!

June 2, 2009 at 3:59 pm Leave a comment

I have heard many comments lately that make me wonder. Some of the comments have been something like this:

  • I can’t leave my job right now.  The economy is horrible.
  • I am stuck working for an incompetent boss.
  • My company’s benefits and perks are too good to leave but I am bored out of my mind.
  • I can’t stand my life.
  • I wish I were thinner/more fit/healthier.
  • etc etc etc

All I hear is can’t and won’t in those statements and when I ask for more detail about what choices they do have, the same response comes back “I don’t have a choice, I am stuck”.  Really?  No choice at all?  Interesting.

What I really think is you are making excuses. You are choosing the path of least resistance. You are copping out due to your insecurities, your ambivalence and the fear of the unknown.  All ridiculous reasons to just stay put.  How’s that? I am too harsh? I don’t think so at all.  Nothing in this world ever came from maintaining the status quo.  Are you choosing happiness or are you choosing safety?  Without curiosity and a little bit of anxiety, how would you even know you were alive?

I think you can do anything you want to. But YOU have to want to.  Quick whining and moaning, bitching and complaining. We don’t mind hearing it the first time or two, but after you do nothing and keep on the same mindless track, we find the refrain intolerable.  Don’t mistake this for indifference or a lack of caring. I care a great deal, even for people I barely know or have just met, say in an airport for example.  But if you aren’t going to help yourself, why should I remain invested in your plight?

Entry filed under: Miscellania, Relationships, Saturation, thoughts, workplace. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Ten years and going strong .. The World of One

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

