Naturally you ..

June 8, 2009 at 7:14 am 2 comments

I came across some old files the other day from undergrad days.  I read some of the essays I had written for both the graduate program and assistantships I was in the midst of applying  to at the time.

What struck me was my emphasis, even at 22, on positivity, feedback, coaching, and serving others when it came to my style of leadership.  I actually used the words positivity and building positive organizations.  It doesn’t happen too often that I shock myself, but I was pretty astounded to find evidence that I have long since thought this way as a leader and my examples in the essays reflected it.

As I have learned more about the various styles of leadership that exist and learned more from leaders I have come into contact, I am grateful for this insight into my natural belief of what makes a great leader and how I fit into it.   I still haven’t learned how or when I became this type of leader or if it is just a natural extension of my personality. Regardless, my validation of myself as a leader of merit, despite my giving nature in the workplace, has become cemented.

As a person and leader, I think it important to share your appreciation of others’ work, give feedback whenever you can, coach others to greater heights, be fun, and create a positive environment. In essence, if you aren’t successful, than I cannot be. Now, knowing that this is something I have practiced and believed for the better part of twenty years, I don’t feel like I am just jumping on the positivity or positive psychology bandwagon of late. I am just being my natural me.

Who or what is your natural you?  Are you still living it?

Entry filed under: Books, humor, Miscellania, Relationships, school, thoughts, Who is?, workplace. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Do you ever wonder why … Interrupting our regularly scheduled broadcasting …

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. D. Anderson  |  June 8, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Nice post and good validation for you and the rest of us. I think it is a natural extension of you and the ever developing you. You’re a great leader. Keep leading us to success.

    Reply
    • 2. anissastein  |  June 8, 2009 at 11:26 am

      Thank you for the very high compliment. Thank you!! Anissa

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

