Is it worth the risk?

June 15, 2009 at 12:15 am Leave a comment

To laugh … is to risk appearing the fool.

To cry … is to risk appearing sentimental.

To reach out … is to risk involvement.

To expose your feelings … is to risk exposing your true self.

To place your ideas and dreams before a crowd … is to risk rejection.

To love … is to risk not being loved in return.

To live … is to risk dying.

To hope … is to risk despair.

To try … is to risk failure.

But risks must be taken, because the greatest hazard in life is to risk nothing. Those who risk nothing, do nothing, and have nothing.  They may avoid suffering and sorrow, but they cannot learn, feel, change, grow, or love.  Chained by their certitude, they are slaves; they have forfeited their freedom. Only one who risks is truly free.

Thank you to Janet Rand for the above.  It has really resonated with me. And to think I found this among reading I did  for class.

I found this recently and had to share because I have had some amazing opportunities and taken quite a few chances lately (meaning in the past few months to past few years).  I have also heard from various persons in my life (be it friends, coworkers, acquaintances, or family) that they are, at times, quite shocked with some of my choices.  Most recently, it’s been about the amount of information I reveal about myself within this very blog.

I guess I just wouldn’t be true to who I am if I censored what I wrote or hid behind the topics, not fully revealing myself.  Although I am not the most outgoing person in the world, I do tend to be pretty open about who I am and what I think. I guess I wouldn’t make a good celebrity in that way!  I am happier with myself and my life when I am true to who I am than I was when I sublimated my true self for the sake of everyone else.  So, from my perspective, yes, it is worth the risk and I am going to keep taking them.  I will risk any pain, disappointment, or rejection that comes my way because of these choices.  Hope you can say the same!

Entry filed under: Miscellania, Relationships, thoughts, Who is?. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Another rant? You Matter

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

