The cavalry is coming

July 17, 2009 at 10:01 am 2 comments

When you hear this phrase, what immediately came to mind? Are you wrestling with an issue and felt some relief that help was coming? Do we all still feel a need to be rescued sometimes?

I believe help comes in many forms. The trick is you need to be aware and ready for the help.  It doesn’t help if you are turned in a different direction or your eyes are closed.

Lately, I have been having some challenges with anxiety.  By nature, I am a  planner, an organizer, a linear thinker. I am also creative, spontaneous, with boundless energy. These two sides can come into conflict which causes anxious moments. Right now, I have many been struggling with my doctoral program while finishing up my coaching practicums toward PCC certification, adjuncting at one college while working full-time at another. That’s just the big stuff 🙂

But what do you do when the anxiety hits?

Luckily, I am good at recognizing when I am anxious and keyed up. I have not always been successful about how to mitigate those feelings though!  But thankfully, I have taken some steps lately and by doing so, the phrase ‘the cavalry is coming’ always springs to mind and I immediately feel relieved.  As a coach, some of the same steps that I use to assist my clients are ones that I utilize myself. And luckily, they are wonderfully effective.  I’m curious. What do you do to help yourself and practice a little self-care?

Entry filed under: Miscellania, Relationships, thoughts, workplace. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

It’s a 2X2 world Wild About Omaha

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kostenlos filme downloaden  |  July 19, 2009 at 9:10 am

    I cannot believe this will work!

    Reply
    • 2. anissastein  |  July 20, 2009 at 12:47 pm

      I think it’s more the steps I take to reduce my anxiety than the phrase itself, but the phrase said afterwards does remind me that I am doing what I need to in reducing my anxiety. Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

