Are you a life-enricher?

July 24, 2009 at 11:32 am Leave a comment

I was in the bookstore the other evening, doing something I haven’t done in a while.  I let my curiosity run amok and looked at a ton of different books among the stacks.  I don’t do this very often because if there is one material weakness I have, it is books. Oh sure, you already know about my love for office supplies, but honestly, I do without very easily. I don’t know why, but checking out the stacks at the local library isn’t as fun as it used to be.  Plus with budget cutbacks, their hours are more limited than ever (which I think is a shame).  Doesn’t anyone remember the RIF (reading is fundamental) campaign??

I pulled a few books to look at more and settled into a chair.  One book in particular caught my attention and one of the lines halfway in caught my attention.  Simply, it asked, are you a life-enricher?

It stopped me short. I would love to think I am, but am I?  Do I question myself based on my daily perception or overall, throughout my life?  Then I started wondering if I surround myself with life-enrichers.  I am sure the other people in the bookstore wondered what I was doing because I was no longer reading the book but just sort of staring off into space at this point.

Here’s what I think.  I don’t think you can really start examining this within yourself until at least college, but definitely after that point.  It helps to look at yourself in big chunks of time, like the first half of the year, the prior year, etc.  Right now, I can say that for the past few weeks, I have been an inconsistent life enricher for both myself and others.  Sometimes, I just don’t have the positivity for my life, which in turn doesn’t allow me the positivity outward to others.  However, if I look at myself for the first half of this year, I have been.

But I also think when it comes to others, I have been lucky that most of the persons I have surrounded myself with are life-enrichers. They are loving, kind, fun, funny, challenging, intellectually motivating, creative, and inspiring.  Hmm, you think, she said most.  Well, not everyone in my life is enriching, but I think that there are some persons in your life that are there no matter what (at work, etc.) and maybe the lesson we can learn from those types is to appreciate the life-enrichment in ourselves and others. I know that’s what I have been doing!

Entry filed under: Books, Miscellania, Relationships, thoughts, Who is?. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Crystal balls and Magic 8-balls Do you want to be a mermaid or a whale?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

