Lost in space

September 3, 2009 at 1:46 pm Leave a comment

I have not written any new posts in a while. This is a bit odd for me, at least in the recent past.  Too many competing priorities you ask? Maybe.  Lack of desire? Not really (hmm, that sounds more like a yes).  Nothing to say? Doubtful, have many topics floating around in my mind.  Poor time-management skills? Does procrastination count?!  I am not really sure why I haven’t posted in a while. I really do have many thoughts I have wanted to share, but have felt like I needed to do other things first and so this seemed to continually get pushed down the list.

For those of you who remember, I talked about my quest for understanding what I wanted in my doctoral program. Trying to understand why I was having challenges in terms of my lack of motivation. I have come to some conclusions about this and am planning forward based on this. Has this taken away from posting (and Facebooking and Twittering)? In some ways, yes.  My exploration has taken me to other universities to explore different programs, their methods, their objectives. It has taken me to my mentor for many conversations to explore more within.

The other thing some of you may remember was my assertion of writing a book at the beginning of the summer for a completion by summer’s end.  Well, at least a draft!  To some, Labor Day is the official beginning of fall and end of summer, so have been going with that. Me personally, the weather in Omaha for the past week or two has made it feel like October (for which I am very delighted about). Regardless, this has taken me away a bit.  I don’t feel bad about that, as Daniel Pink is taking a blog break while he finishes his book (very eagerly anticipated by me as his first was awesome. Have you read it yet?). Of course his will be on the Business Week best seller list whereas mine will not, but still, I feel ok about my reduced output.

I would say my biggest challenge despite what I have shared is a weird kind of energy shift that I am wrestling with.  I am usually fairly energetic and in fact, others wonder where I get my boundless energy. But lately, have had some challenges with getting myself going in the mornings, staying on task, reduced focus and concentration, and a general lack of interest. This isn’t 100%, every day, all day, but it has been a recurring issue as of late and one that I am trying to understand as well as manage. And more so, get to myself again.  Have any of you ever experienced this? Any suggestions?

Entry filed under: Miscellania, thoughts, well-being, Who is?. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

A to-do list tattoo Books, books, books

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

