The No Impact Man

October 25, 2009 at 7:01 pm 2 comments

Have you heard of this book? This blog? This guy?  Well, now you have!  Check it out.

The book was a great read but more than that, I really appreciated Colin’s honesty about this project.  It definitely makes you look within and see how you are living your own life.  I was impressed in so many ways and shocked too.  I dog-eared a ton of pages and it had a profound impact on me.  I hope you will read the book or check out the blog. Or even go see the documentary from their yearlong journey.

His wife and child also participated and to read his wife’s perspective on this via a column in Business Week (reposted on his blog) was also brutally honest about her life and the changes this yearlong experiment had on her as well.

I am sure some of you wonder about my latest movies and books. Between Food Inc., Better Off, and now The No Impact Man, you would consider me a very organic, vegetarian, of the earth kind of person. Well, I am trying to be. I don’t often eat meat and never cook it.  I do wish to be more reliant on farmers markets and other similar farm options year over year.  I think it takes each of us to make adjustments and just keep making them.

Entry filed under: Books, Miscellania, movies, Relationships, research, summer reading list, thoughts, weather, well-being, Who is?. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

“Out”ing of another kind One can never say enough about Appreciation

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joannie Harmon  |  October 31, 2009 at 11:02 am

    I saw this on the “Today Show” and I can’t wait to read it. I read another interesting book of a similar vein – “Turning the Switch Off”. I have it if you would like to read it. I’m not sure exactly how closely they compare, but basically it is the story about the search for balance in one’s life and respect to our earth characterized by a husband and wife’s experiment for 2 years of living with a splinter Amish group. I say splinter because they were not purist – not radical & not disruptive, but not part of the mainstream sect. I think you would like it. Let me know if you want it; I’ll inter-office it to you. Thanks for the share.

    Reply
    • 2. anissastein  |  November 1, 2009 at 1:34 pm

      Hi! I read “Turning the Switch Off” too. I really enjoyed it. It was a different in reality compared to The No Impact Man, but their concepts were really similar. I found them both fascinating for different reasons. If you would like the No Impact Man, happy to lend it! They are both such interesting books and really amazing people. Anissa

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

