It’s a problem of motivation, Bob

April 26, 2010 at 2:08 pm Leave a comment

I watched a bit of Office Space yesterday – the best part of the movie in my opinion – when Peter talks to the Bob’s and basically reclaims his backbone against his bosses (he has 8).  If you have never seen this movie, I highly recommend it. The first hour is truly the best.

I have been having a problem with motivation lately. I actually wondered if my home had been an energy-sucking vortex. But nope, that is not it.  I talked to the doctor today after radiation and he told me I would be tired and to give in a bit more. Honestly, I thought I had been!  I have been doing well with work, but when it comes to being a student, I have noticed that I’m just not feeling it.  It’s most likely the need for a mental break, but I know that is truly not it. I usually fade in this area when I dislike the class or the subject matter. Or in this case, after much reflection, it’s the lack of interaction. For one class, there is not one shred of interaction with the professor. And for all the work expected of us?  A total point value of 50 points. That is not per each of the 7 assignments or each discussion, that is in totality for the entire semester.  Nuts.

I have been trying to supplement this lack of motivation for a class that is more independent study than an actual class, by reading other books, hanging out with friends, seeing more movies, being outside, doing more work with my job, and napping like nuts.  But still, I feel depleted by this class. It’s a huge weight, the monkey on my back.  I know, suck it up, it’s a temporary thing. But darn it, just can’t. I notice my friends who are in school talk about their classes in much the same way – counting down days, talking about the heavy reading load, upcoming papers or exams. It’s nice to know that I am not the only one sometimes 🙂  It often gives me that push to try to open that textbook one more time and give it another go.

Entry filed under: Books, Miscellania, movies, Relationships, school, thoughts, Who is?.

Radiation Day 12

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

