Apple. Apple. Apple. Want. Want. Want.

October 8, 2010 at 2:55 pm 1 comment

I don’t know how Apple does it. Or more specifically Steve Jobs. I don’t know how he reinvents the market in such unique ways. I don’t know how that company is so innovative and creative.  From the commercials, which by the way, they need to make some more of.  I love Mac!  Shoot, I loved him when he was on the tv show Ed.  To the iPad. Sure, everyone made fun of the name but who’s laughing now?  There have been how many sold since the launch – 4 million, 5 million?  Yeah, that’s a lot and they’ve only been on the market since early April.

I have 2 iPods but other than that, I am not really an Apple girl.  However, one step into an Apple store and you want to surrender. You want it ALL.  I tried the netbook thing last year with ACER.  Nice concept, good design, but still not quite there for me. So then, wala, the iPad.  I have played with an iPad twice now in two days.  It is too heavy and they need to work on that but it’s better than a netbook in so many ways. But still, not quite there yet for me. No matter. There will be more generations of iPad’s with each one getting more amazing than the next.  Until then, I will suffer along with my Toshiba laptop and my Kindle. I love my Kindle and until Apple can rival that in weight, etc. then no can do.

But as I walked around in there, looking for a keyboard, I wanted it all. I have no idea how it happens, but I wanted a laptop. Then a desktop. Then an iPad. Then the iPhone (darn it, move on that will ya Apple. I’m on Verizon, have been for almost a decade and I’m not straying to AT&T).   It was very hard to not want it all and I don’t even have a need for any of it.  I have no idea how that magic hold comes over a person when they walk in. It’s like a giant playground and you want to take all the toys home with you.  I am thankful that I don’t carry a credit card with me or I have no idea what would happen.  I got my keyboard and got the heck out. I didn’t play or touch or dawdle.  Want, want, want = get out, get out, get out!!

I should clarify that my first experience with a computer was some IBM monstrosity using WordPerfect, DOS, and those iPad sized floppy disks. I hated computers back then. To me, it was just a huge piece of junk that made things harder and more time-consuming. Then off to college I go and most of the offices at IU used the original Macintosh computers.  One of my jobs (of the 2 I had during college), I had to go into administrative offices, make sure things were turned off, nothing was unlocked, etc.  Sometimes, I would use these computers to write letters (email wasn’t existent quite yet – I know, crazy right?) or do homework.  I loved that job.  It was then that I loved computers. I loved that Macintosh. I wanted one so bad.  Then about a year later, email started on campus and then I really wanted one.  So, in some ways, I am an Apple girl.

I think I should stay away from the Apple store for a while.  I am feeling twitchy right now. Darn nostalgia.

Entry filed under: humor, Miscellania, movies, music, Saturation, television, thoughts, well-being, Who is?. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

I’m a survivor! Grow already!!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Wilhemina  |  August 12, 2012 at 3:15 am

    It looks like you have attracted a good size following nowadays.
    I’m happy for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

