Golden Globe Picks

January 14, 2011 at 12:50 am 1 comment

So, it my guilty pleasure time of year. Yes, it is awards season. I have always loved movies and so somewhere along the way, I became an annual Oscar’s watcher. However, the awards season has blossomed over the years.

My friend Tabitha and I are making our picks to have some good-natured fun.  Hope you will join us!

To be fair, I want to share what I have seen (or haven’t) so you can know where my guesses might have come from.

Seen: The King’s Speech, Black Swan,The Kids are All Right, Red, Easy A, The TownI will fully admit my bias of the movies in red that I considered amazing, outstanding, excellent. Worthy of every award.

Want to see (and will by the Oscars): 127 Hours, The Social Network, The Fighter, Inception, Blue Valentine, Love and Other Drugs

No desire to see: Burlesque, The Tourist

My picks:

  • Best Movie: The King’s Speech
  • Best Actress in a movie:  Natalie Portman (but I could see Michelle Williams winning this t00)
  • Best Actor in a movie: Colin Firth
  • Best Comedy Movie: The Kids are All Right
  • Best Actress in comedy: Annette Bening
  • Best Actor in a comedy: Johnny Depp (doesn’t matter which movie)
  • Best Supporting Actress: Helena Bonham Carter
  • Best Supporting Actor: Geoffrey Rush
  • Best Animated Film: Despicable Me
  • Best Foreign Language Film:  Biutiful
  • Best Director: David Fincher (or Christopher Nolan)
  • Best Screenplay: Simon Beaufoy, Danny Boyle
  • Best Original Score: Danny Elfman
  • Best Original Song: one of them from Burlesque

Television

  • Best TV Drama: The Good Wife
  • Best Actress:  Julianna Margulies
  • Best Actor: Jon Hamm
  • Best TV Comedy: Glee (wish it would be Big Bang Theory though)
  • Best Actress comedy: Edie Falco
  • Best Actor comedy: Jim Parsons
  • Best mini-series: Temple Grandin
  • Best Actress mini-series: Claire Danes
  • Best Actor mini-series: Ian McShane
  • Best Supporting Actress: Jane Lynch
  • Best Supporting Actor: Eric Stonestreet

Ok there are my picks. Although I feel like I am a tv-holic at times, I didn’t watch any of the miniseries nominated, I don’t watch Breaking Bad, Mad Men, 30Rock, Glee or Nurse Jackie. I have only my Entertainment Weekly to help shed light on the greatness of these shows and the actors within.

Ahh, the fun of this all for the joy of seeing spontaneous expressions or reactions. Or in the case of Christine Lahti’s win one year, she was in the bathroom at the time they called her name.  Makes for great story!  My one wish is they would stop the madness of having the one-year pregame show to do the fluff interviews of what everyone’s wearing. Let’s take that one hour and build it back into the show so folks can give a proper thankyou lasting longer than a 30-second commercial. It’s ridiculous. Let the moment shine a bit.  It annoys me when the last award of the night is given and the credits are rolling as folks are on the stage. I know, none of us want the Oscars to last an additional hour. Hence, get rid of the ridiculous pre-game/pre-award what are you wearing crap. Let the E! network take care of all that.

Entry filed under: holidays, humor, Miscellania, movies, television, thoughts, well-being. Tags: , , , , , , .

Happy Holidays!! Daily Acceptance Prayer

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Red DVD  |  February 2, 2011 at 11:39 am

    Gday 🙂

    What was the best quality and worst film of last year in your oppinion? To me it might have to be:

    Greatest: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1

    Worst: A Nightmare on Elm Street

    With thanks 🙂 ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2011
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

